News with views from the No1 Spurs website

Friday, 13 May 2016

Wimmer makes Austrian Euro 2016 squad

The coach of the Austrian national team, Marcel Koller , has announced the squad for the European Championship to be held from June 10 to July 10 in France and it contains three Premier League players including our very own Kevin Wimmer.


The promising centre-back had to wait for his chance but he took it with aplomb when Jan Vertonghen was injured. He seamlessly slotted into the centre of defence alongside Toby Alderweireld which augers well for next season. The only slight concern was the number of yellow cards he picked up, particularly early in games, it's something teams could prey upon.

The Austrian squad list contains 24 names, with a player to be cut by the 31 May deadline, the day Austria play a friendly in Klagenfurt against Malta. 

The Euro 2016 opponents Wimmer will face in the group stages are: Portugal, Hungary and Iceland.

This squad list is:
Goalkeepers: Robert Almer (Austria Wien), Heinz Lindner (Eintracht Frankfurt), Ramazan Özcan (Ingolstadt)

Defenders: Aleksandar Dragovic (Dinamo Kiev), Christian Fuchs (Leicester City), György Garics (Darmstadt), Martin Hinteregger (Borussia Monchengladbach), Florian Klein (Stuttgart), Sebastian Prödl (Watford), Markus Suttner (Ingolstadt), Kevin Wimmer ( Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: David Alaba (Bayern Monaco), Marko Arnautovic (Stoke City), Julian Baumgartlinger (Mainz), Martin Harnik (Stuttgart), Stefan Ilsanker (Leipzig), Jakob Jantscher (Lucerne), Zlatko Junuzovic (Werder Bremen), Valentino Lazaro ( Salzburg), marcel sabitzer (Leipzig), Alessandro Schöpf (Schalke 04)

Forwards: Lukas Hinterseer (Ingolstadt), Rubin Okotie (Monaco 1860), Marc Janko (Basel)

Reserves : Daniel Bachmann (Stoke City), Andreas Lukse (Altach); Stefan Lainer (Salzburg), Andreas Lienhart (SCR Altach), Michael Madl (Fulham), Emanuel Pogatetz (FC Union Berlin), Andreas Ulmer (Salzburg); Guido Burgstaller (Nuremberg), Florian Grillitsch (Werder Bremen), Andreas Ivanschitz (Seattle Sounders), Florian Kainz (Rapid Vienna), Veli Kavlak (Besiktas), Yasin Pehlivan (Salzburg), Louis Schaub (Rapid Vienna), Michael Gregoritsch (Hamburg ), Karim Onisiwo (Mainz).


0 Your Comments:

Post a Comment


Just Tottenham

Just Tottenham Blogs


Football Blog Network

Unordered List

Theme Support